Anna

Anna is the perfect heroine in the sense that she is just an ordinary lonely princess until her sister’s powers put her kingdom in jeopardy and she needs to find her so she steps up to the plate and goes on a journey to save Arendelle.

  • Anna’s ordinary world is being lonely and by herself.
  • Her call to adventure would be when her sister Elsa runs away
  • Anna’s crossing of the threshold would be when she actually leaves and puts Hans in charge
  • Some allies that Anna meets on her journey are: Kristoff, Sven, Olaf, The Rock Trolls
  • Some tests she conquers: The cold, the snow giant named Marshmallow, Elsa tries to push her away
  • Anna’s Crisis is when she is accidentally struck in the heart with Elsa’s powers
  • Her road home is when Kristoff takes her to the rock trolls and they are told that the only way to save her is an act of true love
  •  Anna saves her sister just as she completely freezes over. Because she saved her sister, she saved herself and broke the curse and “resurrected”.

Anna fits almost all of Campbell’s steps for a hero’s journey which is why she is such a good example of a heroine. Anna’s journey is different than a traditional masculine hero’s journey because her’s was based completely on love, not for any personal reasons.

4 thoughts on “Anna

  1. I laughed my butt off on the “a snow giant named Marshmellow”! I agree with your post and will say that Anna is a great example of a hero and does go through the hero journey well. The two videos you shared are definitely great scenes throughout the movie that show her hero self. Even the “build a snowman” one, since you can see her progress throughout the scene. I love that you mentioned that her journey is out of love and not for personal reasons. Great post!

    Like

  2. She’s a great heroine! I love that in the beginning of that movie you anticipate that Elsa will be the heroine because she has the powers but it turns out you don’t need powers to be a hero and I think that is also part of what makes her fit the heroine model as oppose to the hero model.

    Like

  3. This is one that I actually almost chose because I was drawing a blank! I liked how you showed her progress with videos and used humor to help describe the journey she went through!

    Like

  4. If I was asked to think of a heroine, which I was, Anna would have been literally the last person I would think of. Like so many father’s in the world, Frozen haunts my soul. But! Excellent connections here with the post. I never thought it would be something that could be connected to the hero’s journey, but you actually made it very convincing. It seems that going back to her ordinary world wasn’t so ordinary after all. I’ve noticed in many of the posts that even though the hero’s journey cycle restarts, it’s almost always better than how they started. Or at least more interesting!

    Like

Leave a comment